You are here

History, Meetings and Governing Structure

DCCB was originally organized as the District of Columbia Association of Workers for the Blind in 1912.  It incorporated as a non-profit corporation in 1936.  In the late 1960s it elected to become an affiliate member of the American Council of the Blind and changed its name to the District of Columbia Council of the Blind.  It is proud of its long history of serving and representing blind and visually impaired residents of the Washington metropolitan area.
The Bylaws of the DC Council of the Blind as amended November 2013 can be found at the below link:

DCCB's Bylaws

DCCB is governed by elected officers and a Board.  Current officers are as follows:
President – Rev. Ray Raysor, 202-379-2995,
Vice President - Janice Dyson-Ceasar
Recording Secretary - Jeanette Gerrard
Treasurer - Marcus Robinson

All officers serve on the Board.  The other current Board member is Kathy Brandt. 
DCCB has five standing committees: Membership, Legislative, Advocacy, Program and Beneficiary.  Committee membership is open to any DCCB member who wishes to join.